University of Waterloo Land Acknowledgement

We, the Waterloo Engineering Society, acknowledge that we live and work on the traditional territory of ‎ the Attawandaron (Neutral), Anishinaabeg and Haudenosaunee peoples. The University of Waterloo is situated on the Haldimand Tract, the land granted to the Six Nations that includes ten kilometers on each side of the Grand River.  Learn More


The University of Waterloo Engineering Society exists to promote a positive undergraduate experience among its members through representation of student opinion as well as support of academic, professional and social needs. The Society will strive to provide means for its members to develop and succeed as undergraduate students, and in their future endeavors.


The University of Waterloo Engineering Society will work to better facilitate representation of its students on all relevant matters. The Society will strive to grow and improve its academic, professional, and social events and services to cater to the expanding diversity of its members.

As Waterloo Engineering students alternate between work terms and school terms every four months, the Engineering Society is run alternately by two teams of students: Society “A” (A-Soc) and Society “B” (B-Soc). 

Each term the on-stream society switches between the two societies, allowing us to maintain a consistent set of executive, directors, and members. Depending on how each program’s streaming schedule is arranged, you may switch societies more than once during your time at Waterloo. Whichever society is on-term while you are in a school term is the society of which you are currently a member.

During even numbered years, A-Society is in school during the Winter and Fall terms, and B-Society is in school during the Spring term. During odd numbered years, A-Society is in school during the Spring term, and B-Society is in school during the Winter and Fall terms.


A-Society Executive Team 

PresidentTyler West

VP Student LifeSujash Nayak

VP FinanceHilus Keay

VP AcademicMaya Baboolal

VP CommunicationsMaia Tse

B-Society Executive Team 

President: Dylan Ellingson

VP Student Life: Jacob Welfare

VP Finance: Michael O’Brien

VP Academic: Grace Marshall

VP Communications: Thomas Li

When the University of Waterloo, then called the Waterloo College Associate Faculties, opened to students in Spring of 1957, the first class on campus was composed of 74 young men who dreamed of being engineers. With a radical new co-operative education system and modified school year (at the time 4 terms of three months each), the University began to grow, and soon after, in 1958, the inaugural engineering classes formed the first formal student organization on campus, the Engineering Council.

Before the University of Waterloo began making headlines for its academic prowess, the engineering students made national headlines in 1958 with a prank they pulled on the City of Waterloo by painting “BEER” on a city water tower. It was this student spirit and unity that would give the Engineering Council the ability to grow, and to continue the tradition of faculty pride.

As time progressed, the Engineering Council became the Engineering Society, and in 1971 a Constitution was drafted and approved, creating the Society we know. While Waterloo grew out of the muddy farm fields into an international academic powerhouse, the Engineering Society grew out of the original engineering huts of the late 50’s into the largest, most active student society on campus and one of the most active in all of Canada. Built on legacy and tradition, the Engineering Society continues to be a role model for other student societies, and while the University forges into its seventh decade, EngSoc continues to unify the students in the Faculty of Engineering.